About UsLearn a little more about our family!
Nestled in a small corner of the Florida coastline, a small group of Catholic families dreamed of a church to call their own. At the suggestion of Father Patrick Coffey, these families came together and named their parish St. Patrick. In 1851, a board of trustees donated $4,700 (or roughly $120,000 today) to build a new church. Though the cornerstone was blessed in 1851 by Bishop Portier, the building itself was not completed until the summer of 1852, due to a hurricane and lack of funds.
Father Dominic Manucy became St. Patrick’s first permanent pastor, with 38 priests serving throughout the last century.
Just before the Civil War began in 1861, the congregation decided to build a more stable structure. One year later, when St. Michael the Archangel Church in Pensacola burned down, St. Patrick became the only remaining Catholic church in West Florida. In the early 20th century, under the leadership of Father Michael J. Keyes with his parish of 100 families, the current building in its Italian Romanesque style was completed.
Today, Father Roger Latosynski serves as pastor to a dedicated congregation of around 80 families. However, during the summertime St. Patrick can see a rise to as many as 300-350 families.
Our Clergy, Leadership & Staff